The Wonders of Dukan Bread

Turkey Melt

For as long as people have been Dukan dieting, I’m sure, people have been trying to find innovative ways to eat bread and still adhere to the rules of the Dukan Diet. I have found a hand full of great recipes that are testaments to this. A great example would be Silvia’s Soft Buns recipe that contains a mixture of cream cheese & fluffy egg-whites. This recipe is delicious! However, it takes a bit of time & energy to prepare. Another example would be from the previously posted french toast recipe; a solid & quick recipe for breakfast or to satisfy your sweet tooth. With that said, the following recipe for bread is a play on both of these excellent recipes and results in a savory, firm bread that can be used in any sandwich!

Savory Dukan Bread

Ingredients:

Patty Melt
  • 4 tbs oat bran
  • 1/2 ts baking powder
  • 2 tbs fat free greek yogurt
  • 4 tbs fat free cream cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 ts onion powder
  • 1 ts dry chopped onions
  • 1 /2 ts garlic salt
  • 1/4 ts pepper
  • 1/2 ts italian-herb seasoning
Directions:
  1. Whisk ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Pour mixture into a microwave safe dish. (I used a medium-sized tupperware container)
  3. Microwave on 750 watts for 4 minutes.
  4. Remove from microwave and let cool for a few minutes.
  5. Flip dish upside down on a cutting board to remove bread from container.
  6. Cut bread into about 2 squares.
  7. Place in toaster & toast squares until golden brown on both sides.
  8. Cut squares in half to make a total of 4 squares of toast. (yields 2 servings)

(sources: http://dukanitout.com/silvias-soft-buns/ , http://www.fitnesstreats.com/2011/05/dukan-diets-french-toast/)

28 thoughts on “The Wonders of Dukan Bread

    1. Thank you!! Yes, they are both great ways to get in your daily oat bran and, of course, any chance you get to eat bread on the Dukan Diet should be taken! 🙂

      1. Hi, Can you bake this bread in the oven, and if you can what temperature and for how long.
        Thank You
        Paulette McNeil

      2. Hi Paulette,

        I actually have never tried it in the oven so i’m not sure that it would bake well. If you want to give it a try, I would recommend lightly greasing a small baking dish, baking on low, and checking on it frequently.

  1. I have made your bread a few times now and it is fantastic but I just cant seem to get it 100% right.. It NEVER looks as good as yours and quite often goes very hard. I dont know what im doing wrong 😦 any suggestions?

    1. Hm.. have you checked to make sure your microwave is at 750 watts when you microwave it? My microwave is 1500 watts so when I cook the bread, I have to set it at 50%. If not, that may be one possibility as to why it turns hard if it’s being microwaved on high. Also, you may need to adjust the cook time depending on the size of the container you’re using. For example, the bigger the container I use to cook the bread, the longer I have to microwave it.

      Hope this helps!

  2. Hi I can’t seem to get the page up for sylvias soft bun recipe. any chance u could give me it. I am just going to try your dukan bread recipe. I have made a few dukan breads and they have been disgusting so when I came across your site I thought I would give yours a go. The french toasts look delish just hoping my turn out the same. I really miss not having bread so fingers crossed. I have lost 4 stone so far and have 2 more to go, I will let u know how I get on with it.

    1. I love this bread.it has really helped me in losing weight as I take this out with me when going round friends for lunch.thank goodness for this site. I have now lost 5 stone. 2 to go which is becoming a struggle….

Leave a comment